The Film Society

We bring a diverse selection of films to the lower Sunshine Coast of BC, Canada: films that share compelling content, images, and ideas. We cultivate the appreciation of film and provide an alternative to mainstream entertainment in our community.

You can join us as an annual member, or take in films one at a time.

Scroll down to view upcoming films.

Theatres

Heritage Playhouse Gibsons, MONDAY EVENINGS at 7:30 pm, doors open at 7 pm to annual members.

Raven’s Cry Theatre Sechelt, MATINEES at 2 pm, doors open at 1:30 pm.

Upcoming Films

Woman at War

Sechelt, Sat. Sept. 7, 2019 Gibsons, Mon. Sept. 9, 2019

…an environmental drama wrapped in whimsical comedy and magical music, and tied up with a bow of midlife soul-searching. Details

Capernaum (Chaos)

Sechelt, Thurs. Sept. 19, 2019 Gibsons, Mon. Sept. 23, 2019

… the story of a Lebanese boy whose life is so hard, so despairing, he eventually sues his negligent parents for the “crime” of allowing him to be born. Details

Colette

Sechelt, Thurs. Oct 3, 2019 Gibsons, Mon. Oct. 7, 2019

Keira Knightley shines in this biopic about liberation, sexual adventure and claiming of women’s power. Details

Custody

Gibsons, Tues. October 15, 2019 Sechelt, Sat. October 19, 2019

Flawlessly and realistically acted by the three central performers, particularly the 10-year old boy at the centre of the custody battle, this is a tense and gripping film experience… Details

Shoplifters

Gibsons, Mon. Nov. 25, 2019 Sechelt, Thurs. Nov. 28, 2019

…Shoplifters focuses on a “family” of marginalized, morally dubious outcasts who create their own nurturing environment outside of society’s laws and norms. Details

Mad Hot Ballroom

Sechelt, Thurs. Dec. 5, 2019 Gibsons, Mon. Dec. 9, 2019

..a charming and inspiring documentary that profiles several elementary classes from New York’s inner-city schools as they compete in a city-wide ballroom dancing competition. Details

Recent Films

The Wife

Gibsons, Mon. April 8 2019 Gibsons, Tues. April 9 2019

Glenn Close excels in this simmering drama about a highly intelligent, mature beauty—the perfectly devoted wife… Details

Gifted

Gibsons, Mon. March 18 2019 Sechelt, Sun. March 24 2019

Frank Adler, a Florida boat mechanic, is a single man raising his spirited young niece, Mary, a child prodigy… Details

Leave No Trace

Gibsons, Mon. Jan. 21 2019 REPEAT SCREENING Gibsons Tues. Jan. 22 2019

In a vast public park on the outskirts of Portland, Oregon, reclusive veteran Will and his thirteen-year-old daughter Tom live off-grid in camouflaged encampments… Details

The Party

Gibsons, Mon. Jan. 7 2019 Sechelt, Sat. Jan. 19 2019

Janet hosts a party to celebrate her new promotion, but once the guests arrive it becomes clear that not everything is going to go down as smoothly as the red wine…. Details

Thanks to Our 2019/20 Platinum Patrons

  

Image for Bottom of Home Page

The SCFS 2017 child theme has been coded to NOT display the title or the text for this post.

The post is just used for you to add a final image to the bottom of the home page, using the Featured Image option in the right hand WordPress sidebar.