Our Bursary

In order to give back to the community, the film society has created a School District 46 bursary for Sunshine Coast high school graduates going on to post secondary studies in film, television, video or dramatic arts. The bursary started at Elphinstone Secondary in Gibsons, but as of 2024, students will be selected on a rotating basis between Elphinstone and Chatelech Secondary in Sechelt.

We also previously also awarded bursaries for students to attend the Summer Film Camp organized by the Powell River Digital Film School.

SD 46 Bursary Recipients

  • 2020 – Siera Marits (Elphinstone)
  • 2022 – Abby Ridd (Elphinstone)
  • 2023 – Kaliyana Denham Rohilek (Elphinstone) (Read Coast Reporter article)

Powell River Film Camp Recipients

  • 2019 – Isaiah Hill
  • 2020 – Kathleen Despins, Angie Williams